Thread: Islam

Default Islam

Assalamu Alaikum

I am studying Islam, and have been for a while yet.

My only problem, is I know there is a part of the Qur'an that speaks of "no compulsion". Yet I see so much to the contrary "There is only this or that way, all else are false". This seems to negate the no compulsion facet.

Secondly, if Islam claims to be the only way, what of all my very good friends who are very honorable and good people. Doing many selfless deeds in helping others. What happens to these people? I can not see a just and merciful God sending them to a punishment.

Though too, I am keeping an open mind, and hope to see others give their take on this.

Wassalam

Wassalam,

There is no compulsion in religion. This means that everyone is free to make their choice. What would be the point in testing us if we were not give a choice to choose? It is obvious that we are meant to choose freely. However, this does not mean that we will not pay the consequences if we make the wrong choice intentionally.

You stated:

"I can not see a just and merciful God sending them to a punishment."