Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: is abortion ok in islam

Default is abortion ok in islam

im so sorry im new to islam and my friend who is muslim said its okay in situations before 120 days. i just want to make sure. thank you

Veteran Member

Default Re: is abortion ok in islam

Salaam and welcome to the forum. Please do not feel sorry to raise a query about an aspect of religion that you are unsure or unclear. I enclose the opinion of Al-Mawrid schoalrs on this issue.

Best regards

Waseem

Abortion
    Social Issues
    Javed Ahmad Ghamidi
    (Tr. by Shehzad Saleem)

When one hundred and twenty days pass after the conception of a foetus, aborting it is prohibited. After this period, the killing of the foetus is actually the killing of a human being which, according to the Qur’ān, amounts to killing the whole of mankind. The Qur’ānic punishment for this is eternal Hell. However, before this time-period, abortion is allowed; but this allowance too is not absolute; there must be a legitimate excuse and a palpable reason for it. In Islamic jurisprudence, this period of one hundred and twenty days has been fixed for abortion because at the end of this period a child is bestowed with human personality. Before this time, however, he is a mere physical being devoid of complete human characteristics and lives in this state. At the end of this one hundred and twenty day period when his physical being culminates, the Almighty bestows human personality to this being. It is this act of God which the Qur’ān has called the transformation of the foetus into a new creation:

وَلَقَدْ خَلَقْنَا الْإِنسَانَ مِن سُلَالَةٍ مِّن طِينٍ ثُمَّ جَعَلْنَاهُ نُطْفَةً فِي قَرَارٍ مَّكِينٍ ثُمَّ خَلَقْنَا النُّطْفَةَ عَلَقَةً فَخَلَقْنَا الْعَلَقَةَ مُضْغَةً فَخَلَقْنَا الْمُضْغَةَ عِظَامًا فَكَسَوْنَا الْعِظَامَ لَحْمًا ثُمَّ أَنشَأْنَاهُ خَلْقًا آخَرَ فَتَبَارَكَ اللَّهُ أَحْسَنُ الْخَالِقِينَ (٢٣: ١٢-١٤)